NWK Reviews ECW Wrestlepalooza 2000

WCW, ECW, UPW, etc
NWK2000

NWK Reviews ECW Wrestlepalooza 2000

Post by NWK2000 » May 13th, '19, 15:09

April 16, 2000 Saint Charles Missouri

Intro

So basically my want for reviewing the show comes out of the fact that the Family Arena in Saint Charles is where my college commencement took place. So it's pretty cool I got my diploma in the same place where Dusty Rhodes spilled blood. This was a fancam that was split across an episode of both the TNN show and Hardcore TV, with the first two matches being dark matches., but I'll review it as a stand alone show. Let's see what lies ahead.

An RF Video camera man films the program: Instead of just filming the match listing page as one wide shot, we get both sides as their own shot, going name by name. As a result it's barely clear what some of the matches are, but at least each guy has a ton of Paul Heyman-produced flavor text, explaining the feud or what their storyline aims are., which is pretty cool.

Show open: The text incorrectly explains that this is their "Saint Louis debut". Wrong! Saint Charles is a separate town! Over a bridge! Also the entire lower dome is sold out, with the upper deck tapered off (which I'm pretty sure TNA was able to fill half of in 2011) Also there are a lot of kids here.

Simon Diamond and his entourage in ring promo: Bad. Simon says he's a blue chip athlete, but he can't be the best he can be because of HC Loc, the ref ref in the ring , who's officiating is bad. First, it's weird to see a guy who's whole gimmick is "I'm an athlete" accompanied by a gang of weirdos. Also he gets the crowd on his side threatening to beat up the ref, because ECW fans are sociopaths. Simon basically transforms into Bob Backlund, and his entourage beat up the ref, which leads to

The Musketeer is the special ref

Simon Diamond (w/ Prodigy and Prodigette) vs HC Loc